The Return of the XFL

The Xtreme Football League has found its way back into existence as the first games were played on February 8th. In 2001, after the league failed to last only one season, many were skeptical about its return. To the surprise of many, viewers have found the league to have interesting new rules, new entertaining elements, and most importantly, quality football games.

When Vince McMahon, CEO of the WWE, announced in 2018 that he was bringing the league back, he highlighted that this league was going to be a “fan-first” league. After all, their slogan is, “For the love of football.” Concluding the first two weeks of play, the XFL has put up surprisingly strong television ratings and has shown that it has great potential for longevity.

The league consists of eight teams that play a 10 week regular season. These eight teams include, the Dallas Renegades, the DC Defenders, the Houston Roughnecks, the Los Angeles Wildcats, the New York Guardians, the St. Louis BattleHawks, the Seattle Dragons, and the Tampa Bay Vipers. The top four teams in the XFL will enter the playoffs at the end of the regular season and will eventually conclude with an XFL championship.

Currently, the Houston Roughnecks stand alone at the top of the XFL power rankings and are followed closely by the DC Defenders in second, and the St. Louis BattleHawks in third.

  • Grant Geppert / February 2020 / HLGU Vanguard

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: